News Alerts

New COVID-19 quarantine regulations for inbound travelers to China.
March 23, 2020

On Monday, March 23, China reported no new local cases of Coronavirus. However, China confirmed a surge of infections brough from overseas. This new scenario has caused the country to implement the following new measures:

Beijing: Starting on March 23, all inbound flights scheduled to land in Beijing will be redirected to one of 12 designated airports located in other Chinese cities, where passengers will be subject to health screening. Passengers who do not exhibit any symptoms will be allowed to re-board their planes to Beijing. In all cases, inbound passengers will be subject to a 14-day quarantine.

Shanghai: Starting on March 23, all passengers arriving to Shanghai from abroad will be required to undergo nucleic acid testing, temperature checks, epidemiological investigation and verification of health declaration forms.

Additionally, as of this date, inbound travelers who have visited any of the following 24 countries in the last 14 days, will be required to undergo a 14 day quarantine in their homes or designated quarantine facilities: South Korea, Italy, Iran, Japan, France, Spain, Germany, the United States, the United Kingdom, Switzerland, Sweden, Belgium, Norway, the Netherlands, Denmark, Austria, Australia, Malaysia, Greece, the Czech Republic, Finland, Qatar, Canada and Saudi Arabia.

Hong Kong: Starting March 25, and for 14 days, Hong Kong will deny entry to all inbound passengers that are not Hong Kong residents. This includes both visitors and transit passengers passing through Hong Kong International Airport.

AUTHORS: Patricio Laporta, Alberto Cardemil.

Follow us in Wechat Síguenos en Instagram Síguenos en YouTube